Reciprocity is the ability of one state to issue certification to a certified operator from another state based solely on the certifications received in that other state. The ability for Alaska to issue certificates through reciprocity is governed by the Alaska Statutes Sec. 46.30.100. Reciprocity. which states "Certificates may be issued without examination in the comparable classification to an applicant who holds a certificate in a state, territory, or possession of the United States, if its certification requirements and examinations are comparable to those of this state and if reciprocal privileges are granted to operators certified in this state".
Applying for Reciprocity
- Contact your certification program and verify that they will consider reciprocity with Alaskan operators. If not, you are not eligible for certification through reciprocity with the state of Alaska. Additionally, DEC cannot consider reciprocity for any certificates obtained through reciprocity.
- Complete the "Request for Reciprocity" form available at http://www.dec.alaska.gov/water/opcert/appforms.htm. This form must be mailed to DEC with the $50 nonrefundable request review fee. Faxed and emailed requests will not be accepted. Please ensure your request includes current contact information for current and prior employers, i.e. phone numbers and email addresses, copies of your certifications, high school diploma or GED, and any postsecondary education, e.g. certificates of completion, college transcripts, etc. Incomplete requests will delay the review process.
Reciprocity Review Process
- Upon receipt of your request, DEC will contact your state’s certification program to verify certificate information and program requirements for certification, i.e. type of exam administered, minimum operating experience and education requirements, etc.
- If your certificate was obtained through reciprocity, then DEC cannot consider reciprocity for your current certificate.
- DEC will contact current and prior employers to verify operating experience.
- After all the necessary information is gathered, DEC will make a determination on eligibility for certification based on reciprocity.
- If reciprocity is granted, the $50 per certificate fee must be paid for certificates to be issued. This fee must be paid prior to the expiration of the other state’s certificates.
- Once you receive a certificate through reciprocity, all Alaskan requirements for renewal apply. Click here to view the renewal requirements.
- If reciprocity is not granted, you may request DEC to review your request for certification exam eligibility.
- Reciprocity is granted on a case-by-case basis. DEC has the discretion to not grant reciprocity. DEC must also consider the advice of the Alaska Governor's Water and Wastewater Works Advisory Board when granting reciprocity.
Some Factors DEC Considers When Requests Are Reviewed
- How does your state calculate operating experience?
- What type of experience was used to meet operating experience requirements?
- What are the renewal requirements for certifications?
- Did you take an exam?
Please contact the Operator Training and Certification Program at (907) 465-1139 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.